Long words.

"I am a bear of very little brain and long words bother me."

A.A. Milne

To be fair, if you respect someone and value their individuality, the long words are not important. Pity some people don't get that. Doesn't matter how you communicate, so long the aim is to be understood and to understand. It's a two way street really.

I remember going into a sandwich shop in Cambridge one lunch time. I asked for a tuna baguette and a packet of crisps. The girl behind the counter was local and she couldn't understand a word I said. I repeated it in as many ways as I could think of (about 6 different attempts) until I finally decided to change my order. That was when my mate stepped in. The order was duly placed and immediately understood. The only difference between what I said and what he said was that he asked for a packet of chips rather than crisps. Yes, you guessed it - he was American!


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.