One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

The blipfoto bookclub

It's not a cyber myth. It does exist!

It's very real. You can flip through its pages, and they smell of India.
Quite literally. Mrs Raheny and I were inhaling deeply while flicking the pages of the book that arrived in the post (via Cergy Pontoise, but it did not smell of France, I should know) and it reminded us of our travelling days and their exotic smells.

Many many thanks Hues (from the not so far side).

I was able to read the last chapter out of my own freshly arrived India-infused copy. Rather than the previous damp drizzle librarian armpits soggy-back edition I had borrowed from the library.
Call me old fashioned but before you do that (at your own risk), just try and extract a smell out of an eBook reader (although you could get a whiff of burnt circuitry from a dodgy eBay bargain, but that can hardly be a good sign...)

I am just after deleting two paragraphs of total drivel about Arundathi Roy's magnificent book.

I very rarely read reviews that make me feel like reading a book. I usually rely on my own judgement of the first 30 pages.

I liked this one after 4. She manages to create the most improbable yet vivid images to describe the indescribable. With a very personal and flamboyant sense of punctuation and rhythm.

Thanks again D!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.