Framer's Intent...

By Scrybe

Digby Fairweather At Parr St

So, you missed the greatest night of the universe. Yup, you did. But at least I caught it on camera for you.

I now have a ton of shots to edit. They're getting done tomorrow. But, for now, I ran this one very quickly through Lightroom to present here - Digby Fairweather was the guest at the Parr St Tuesday Jazz night. It was a glorious night. I swear, the whole scene turned up to hear him, and we had a packed out jam sessions for the last set. At the very end, I was about to give Digby my contact details so that he could view my shots from the comforts of his London abode, and this young lady was talking to him, telling him how she played sax but longed to switch to trumpet.

Digby is not only a brilliant trumpeter and consummate performer, but also a true gent, and he was so enthused by this lady's interest in trumpeting that he gave her an impromptu short 'lesson' consisting of tips and general encouragement, while the band packed away on the stage, and people brushed passed this pair to leave the establishment. I just had to grab a shot of the shared love for this music with my camera. They were so into their private conversation that neither of them even noticed me shooting. But the players who saw my shots afterwards all loved them, and I'm glad I went for it. These are the shots I live for, and the reason why I want to get better at the technique of photography. It is the reason behind any kit lust I might have, and why I take my camera out with me daily; why I post here, and why I appreciate all the feedback I get here or in other places. Because I want to craft a library full of moments like these.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.