Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

Everyone's feeling pretty...

Drop Reuben off at school at the gates before parking downstairs with Callum and he's strangely upset at the transition whilst I hand him to teacher Adrian, signing "Mama, school" to me, wanting me to stay. I wait up in the place they call the parent's sanctuary, soft rocking chairs I can snooze in with Callum whilst reading stories and watch Reuben via the TVs recording every little moment of play and he looks happy. I'm happy again. Whilst there I teach one of the mums some ASL signs and she picks up 1-10 easily which isn't entirely intuitive.

I walk with Callum back to Victoria Park where he falls into an unexpected morning nap no doubt brought on by the oppressive heat and the lulling motion of the ride. I have an hour to read before he awakes and, seeing the water jets again, his clothes are off and he runs to cool off. There's a guy from the AP asking a Chinese couple who speak no English the name of the English-speaking boy he's captured for a scoop on the heatwave. I wonder the relationship between the boy and the seeming to be grandparents given their different ethnic backgrounds. After about 10 mins, the photographer is clearly exasperated but doesn't seem to have the know-how to deal with the language barrier.

Reuben's just fine when I pick him up and we drive to Venice Beach in the hope the air will be lighter there. The second park of the day looks out over the ocean and I love to swing the boys with their legs seemingly dangling into the water on the near horizon. The boys, doubled in the single stroller I have with me today head towards the pier at Santa Monica and they go crazy for the acquarium. Shame the carousel and ice cream parlour are closed on Tuesdays. At only $2, the acquarium's the best value in town and we learn to gently touch the starfish and crabs by the volunteers at the touch pool. I guess it must be a Jewish high holiday today because of the large number of families out and about having fun. I feel like I'm in Bournemouth (UK) again as there's a large Hasidic Jewish community there too. I'm reminded of a quite extraordinary shot I took then of a family standing by the waterside with their toes dipped in the water, the monochrome dress and the atmosphere which could well feature on an Echo and the Bunnymen album sleeve. The stark contrast between the children rejoicing in the feel of the water with their fathers, uncles and grandfather standing by in solemn thought. I will have to post it soon.

A long walk back to the car and I offer to photograph a large family from Adelaide with their cameras, all cousins, aunts, uncles, mum and dads who are dawdling their way to Venice. "What about the backlight?" they ask worriedly. I smile. I kinda like it that way.

It's been a good day. A great one. "It's hotter than July".

BackBlip from August in Bournemouth
BackBlip from August with Grandad. Hurrah! August is done. Delighted I found these two little gems.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.