Fraiche and Wilde

By fraicheandwilde

Disaster cake

As I, once again, had a surfeit of blueberries (how does this keep happening?!) I decided to take radical action and bake a cake (not actually unheard of in my life...). I decided to try a new recipe for lemon cake and threw in a generous handful of berries. At the time I just knew it wouldn't go well; the batter was very loose which made for a lovely, moist cake, however it did mean it couldn't support the berries, which sank to the bottom in a sloppy, dejected heap.

However, this story has a happy ending. When I cut into the cake this morning (for a work snack, not for breakfast, I hasten to add) the berries had decided to work together and form a fragile, but stable, bottom layer. Success! Of a sort.

Also, be sure to check out my back blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.