Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

The rowing dock

Earlier this morning when I took this picture as I set off to row from the Pocock Rowing Center, everything was the same color: grey. Could be very cool - but it wasn't so much.(and besides, we'll see enough grey soon!) Later I was going by the rowing club again and stopped to get this colorful one with the gorgeous sun in Seattle today. I like the geometry of dock and bridge (I5 expressway) with no rowers around. My husband and I had a boat on our shoulders on this dock several years ago when we were hit with an earthquake- we were glad that this expressway had just been "earthquake-proofed".
George Pocock came from England (his father built racing shells at Eton college), via Vancouver,BC to Seattle in 1912 to build shells for the University of Washington - his first boatbuilding shop was the building on the left, currently undergoing some sort of renovation. He then moved north of Seattle where the Pocock racing shells are still built -and this old place is now Dale Chihuly's world class glass blowing studio.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.