Life Well Lived

By RodenSarah

Me and my Dad

This is me and my dad listening to many people tell good stories about him during his time at IBM. They were tales of him doing whatever it took to get things done, surviving countless restructuring and layoffs over the years, and providing valued counsel, advice and friendship.

My dad takes care of business, but he also usually has fun while he does it. The banquet tables were decorated with plastic kazoos because almost everyone there has been treated to a kazoo version of Happy Birthday from my dad at work. My dad brought his own professional kazoo with him today, because before the breakfast began, he insisted we all sing Happy Birthday to his dear friend Phil Brandt while he led on kazoo. He is that kind of guy. Sweet, thoughtful, selfless and willing to lead a room full of people to sing Happy Birthday for a friend on a kazoo.....at his own retirement party. :)

It is IBM's loss today and our gain. My parents are best friends and now get to go spend the rest of their lives doing whatever they want. They worked really hard and deserve it. Enjoy!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.