pooba.gingernut

By QuerkyPoo

ICONIC MEMORY

I have tried to stay away from posting blips on the earthquake damage - prefering to the principle " dont talk about the war" but this image has so much meaning for me it has become the icon of our EQ experience.

I played on this bridge when I was a kid - we fished from it - met our mates on it and used it to cross to the other side - to the 'Nuway Drycleaners' where I often went to take my dads white dust coats ( he was a mens Hairdresser). It was just around the corner from our house in Woodchester Ave which is now munted and where portaloo's replace normal flush toilets in damaged but often just liveable houses.

So its an icon for me - Someone has suggested it become a sculpture in memory of the 4th of September when the character of Christchurch changed.

I stood and looked at my bridge - trying to figure out the anger of nature and how this apparently strong metal structure could be fashioned in such a way. I gave up trying - prefering to leave it to the experience we have had - One strangely - ( now its over) I dont now regret having. best wishes
rgds pooba

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.