RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Running Into Harm's Way

As I was out running afternoon errands I got caught-up in a traffic jam as I was taking a route through a local neighborhood. I got out of the car when I saw the smoke and even though there were already a few fire trucks at the scene, a house was engulfed in flames. A number of local residents were asked to vacate their homes and stand away from their houses as they watched these people do their work.

This guy drove up in what was obviously his own personal vehicle. He got into the back of his car and was fully dressed in his protective fire gear within 20 seconds or less. It was amazing to watch. With no communication from anyone else, he started running towards the fire to join his fellow fire fighters to try and save this home and anyone in it.

These people are real heroes. I watched this guy put on his gear and without a second thought run towards what I would call "harms way." He did this to save lives, save personal property and do the job he was trained to do and probably does everyday.

There have been a number of local residences that have caught fire lately. Apparently caused partially by the heat (overloaded electrical), but this one was said to be caused by an unattended barbecue. The elderly man who lived in the house was rescued unharmed.

I salute these brave folks who put their lives on the line without a second thought to save others. I just thought this was an appropriate tribute to the work they do.

Be Safe!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.