Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Stuck in the house

I'm housebound yet again today, due to partly work commitments, but mainly due to still feeling rubbish.

As such a bookshelf is as exciting as it will get, hopefully tomorrow I will make it out the house and get something of more general interest.

This particular shelf houses a selection of books from my three favourite authors. I have many more by each of them, but these are the hardbacks and rarer books.

For anyone interested, the authors are, in no particular order:

Andrew Vachss - He freely admits that writing is a sideline to, and trojan horse for, his real career which is a lawyer representing exclusively children in abuse cases. Not only is his mission in life a good one but his books are fantastic noir style crime novels. Although he's a bit tricky to get hold of in the UK due to not having found a decent publishing deal over here his books, particularly the Burke series, are highly recommended.

Joe R Lansdale - A natural story teller and writer of genre spanning fiction including crime, western and horror. Also a master of the Texan gothic. His Hap and Leonard books are amongst the funniest I've read while still being fairly gritty.

Ken MacLeod - Ok, I'm maybe slightly biased here as he is my next door neighbour. Ken's books have been described as Marxist, Libertarian Sci-fi. I can tell you that as Sci-fi goes they are excellent. Similar in style to his good friend Iain Banks, but definetely with his own twist to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.