No Domestic Goddess...

By NotNigella

Inside the Hollow Mountain...

...or Cruachan Power Station as it's more commonly known. This photo is taken from the heart of the mountain, next to the doors of the turbine hall, looking back up the kilometre-long tunnel towards Loch Awe (it's a kilometre deep below the dam & reservoir above it too!! Just as well I'm not claustrophobic!).

Day 2 of a work induction course (never mind that I've been there 4 months now) was a trip to see this power station, part of our 'Energy Wholesale' portfolio. Took the big camera because I knew we were going to go right up to the stunning dam and reservoir that feeds the station, but it was absolutely chucking it down all day and I didn't dare take the camera out!! So I just got a bit wet looking at the dam and reservoir instead.

A really interesting tour, I must say. Although I don't think you get to see half as much on the tourist tour - don't think they usually let the tourists loose inside the turbine unit housings!!

Right, enough geekiness. My little cherubs are demanding yogurt.... :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.