Motorcycle Driveby

She was the pillion, and oh yeah she was one in the million. Her hand was on my shoulder, and my gaze on the empty roads that were taking us home. Back home from the long ride on my motorbike. Along the countryside, we travelled, as the early rays of the sun hit my goggles through my rear view mirror. The dust on the highway was just beginning to get warm and get ready to fly.

The wetness in the air due to the previous night drizzle was still evident on the hill that we had just visited that morning. A speeding bus zipped past us, it?s engine sounding as a mosquito on a silent night. Trees on either side, the farms and the fields, and the empty road with lines on white and yellow cutting it across at regular intervals, all of them just made us get lost into silence. The odd lake swirled under the road with gushing waters. My bike?s engine was steady due to my keeping it at a constant speed. It was beautiful.

Her hair danced gracefully in the gentle breeze. I did not allow my racing instincts to take over me, for it was supposed to be a serene ride after catching up the sunrise on the hill. As the dark sky turned from grey to orange to blue, I realized that the grip on my handle was beginning to loosen, thereby allowing me to relax my muscles. I looked to the sideways and saw things moving out of sight at constant pace. It is amazing when you realize how fast or steady you are going when you look sideways while driving, but when you look ahead the road never seems to end.

She loved early morning. I loved riding my bike. We loved each other?s company.

I?ve never been so alone
I?ve never been so alive.

Third Eye Blind ~ Motorcycle Driveby

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.