Elwetritsches Welt

By Elwetritsche

Berlin Wall

Today is our national holiday "Day of German Unity" (Tag der Deutschen Einheit).

For picking a new national holiday 20 years ago I would have gone for the day the Berlin Wall ("Berliner Mauer") came down - Nov. 9th in 1989, but the day of the formal unification was chosen.

After the wall came down I received several pieces of concrete, supposedly parts of the wall. Along came an "authentication", stating them to be genuine pieces of the wall.

The so-called "Mauerspechte" (wall wood-peckers) made a big business selling the pieces. I received mine as a present from friends who had been in Berlin at the time.

I don't know if they are genuine or not, but I kept them until today. The authentication got lost somewhere in the house.


Thank you for all your kind comments on my blip birthday yesterday! Highly appreciated!

2:30 pm 24° C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.