Beth Wester Ross

By bethceol

Mine host!

Last night, my friends & neighbours Jill and Peter, treated me to my tea in our local, the Melvaig Inn. It is a converted Free Church of Scotland, and has a wood burning stove where the pulpit used to be.

Ian and Jenny took over this place last year, and I feel it has achieved a fantastic, warm, friendly atmosphere. Ian has brought a lot of his personality and history into the place. And so, there is a mass of music memorabilia, because Ian used to work with Pink Floyd and Dire Straits.
He has a huge collection of singles and LPs, and has an old jukebox which he fills with his old singles - and it is free to play. There is also a record deck on the bar to play the LPs.
He also has his mother's lovely oil paintings displayed, has a collection of toy robots, and car badges/posters about British car racing.
There is never a shortage of things to look at in the Inn.
What would I get rid of? The antlers - they look better on the animal.
The best thing of all? It's within walking distance of my house!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.