Instography

By Instography

Wolga

I was asked on Friday, "do you only ever go to your parents' when it's raining?". The Weather Pro app predicted that there was a 96% chance of precipitation at home today and I'd already had a phone call to report that the Freeview box was on the blink and requesting my diagnostic presence in Glasgow. It's a no brainer really. It looks like my presence was enough. I sat near the Freeview box and it worked. The remote control's a goner though.

But I'm ahead of myself because leaving at midday meant that I'd already seen five hours of the day, performed my chores, fought with the weans (including stopping two fights and making Ewan eat the boiled egg I'd made after he'd eaten all the soldiers and then claimed he was full. There's starving kids in China I said, just to complete the circle, even though I realise later that this extends a line rather than completing a circle. I'd need to say it to my mum to complete a circle), made 16 slices of cardboard toast (out of real cardboard) for the toys' picnic, read the Observer, read an article in the New Yorker (oooh, hark at him!), filled the washer and the dishwasher, filled two cameras with film, and blah blah blah.

That's it, apart from playing chicken with the petrol tank of the hire car. Here's a thing to hate - giving you a car with no petrol in it and telling you to bring it back empty. You just know the bastards are going to make a profit on the petrol. In the old days, you got it full and took it back full. Easy.

Anyway, here's the best of the first film put through my new, dodgily acquired panoramic pinhole Holga. F'n ace, I'd say. It's a view of Glasgow from Cathkin Braes. Just half a mile from the parents and a popular jaunt of my youth. These days populated by some dog walkers and a disproportionate number of men sitting on their own in their cars neither sleeping nor reading a newspaper. I've got a very crisp, sharp Canon 7D version where you can see Glasgow. Apart from the camera, the technical details are:

Film: HP5
Developer: Monochrome Prescycol
Aperture: bladduno??
Shutter speed: Twenty elephants
Post-processing: it's been through the wringer

It's begging to be larger

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.