Just one Thought a Day...

By DeborahWales

Under a blue, blue sky

The cross below St Mary's Church in Haverfordwest is on the site of the old guildhall, in High Street. The rustic cross stands in remembrance of the 44 Pembrokeshire men who fell in the South African war of 1899-1902.

It was a difficult first blipfoto. A Monday (always a good day to start something new), a day away from work, a day to myself, a day with responsibilites. How to get the ONE photo that is simply, THE one.

For a hardened atheist as myself, to find myself in a churchyard was a surprise, but then, I do so love the splendour of church architecture and the stark lines of the cross looked so simple silhouetted against the vibrant blue sky. A cross of great signifigance. A cross to remember, not to worship. In the end, it was simply the blue that made me choose.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.