The Tenacious Tenderfoot

By oliver

Meterologically pink

Like most Brits, a day doesn't go by without moaning/complimenting the weather... It's integral to our culture. One of the first things I do upon waking up is put the radio on and check the weather by looking out of the window, thus deciding what clothes that will suit and choice of waterproof coat etc., I don't watch the weather as it's just bland, now I've got my phone back I really should install a widget to inform me for that. Old ways are the best ways though... Recently however the sunset has indicated it (there's even facebook 'like' pages of Michaelmas' sunset "I saw the sunset on 29.09.10"!!)

The local health centre in the foreground (the very same GPs of K, mentioned yesterday) and the darkened hills of Queensbury behind. It looked better than this picture shows, a 5MP shot is no comparison to the human eye (well some). The silhouetted trees and church tower's shadow featured the view. Alas, my camera was unable to effectively zoom in to that... I so need a better camera!

So this evening I went for a walk round the local area going up further than the previously featured 'Dog Lane' field to just above the area known from the former local pub, Mountain Ash, which describes its fate as a mountain of ash, now gone leaving behind a dump heap of bricks and debris. An arson attack successfully closed the premises. I then sat on the grass watching the streetlights flick on gradually, rising up to a flat battery. I found my quick blip, and another nice spot next to main road. Despite not a superstitious person, I was extra careful when crossing the road due to seeing the one crow on the grassy hillside ("one for sorrow"). Don't want to end up at A&E two days in a row. Then I realised... that rhyme applies to magpies, not crows!!

After going up with Josh to the shop just for the walk/potential future photo idea, I popped to K's to find my phone charger from Is house had been brought down the hilly walk for me.

Hopefully tomorrow is another day of glorious sunshine - Red sky at night, shepherd's delight... an' all that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.