Displacement activities

By Detritus

[Again]

I had today off work as we'd booked an electrician to fit a new hob, after the old one mysteriously split (suspiciously glaring at son). After he'd finished, I took our dog to the woods. This is not unusual, except that I practically never get to do this alone, however my wife is asleep after a night-shift and the little ones are at school.

I took my solitude as an excuse to blunder through the undergrowth away from the paths that we normally end up following. This caused great excitement for Lil, as she soon found interesting smells to chase down, and allowed me to look for something (anything) interesting. It doesn't show here, but the trees are all aligned as they were planted following the destruction of much of the wood in the storm of '87.

I like this shot. It was deliberately underexposed a little, and the auto white balance is off the mark, but I didn't correct it as I liked the colour cast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.