Spirited of London

By Spirited

London History #1

Well I've been teaching down in Hampton today but had no opportunity to nip to Hampton Court Palace down the road ( which lets face it is proper big boys London history) When I got back I took a trot down to Wimbledon village to see if there was anything worth blipping. I'm not a big fan of pretty buildings preferring grugey warehouse and industrial buildings like Battersea Powerstation. However I cannot deny that Eagle House stands out. It was built in 1613 by the Master of Worshipful Company of Girdlers ...yes folks Belts and Girdles! It's been a number of things since then including the Wimbledon school for young gentleman and Noblemen in 1789.I wish the light had been better to do it justice.

Returning home I walked along the edge of the common. No Womble sightings I'm afraid

I reckon this blip is a filler... sorry will try and do better

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.