Beast of Burden

The first time the school bus took my little girl away, I surprised myself and cried. It was a major milestone, one that meant she was another step closer toward independence.

I now realize I owe a lot to this beast of burden. Not only does the bus and the driver get my daughter and dozens of other kids to and from school safely every day, the fact that I'm not the one schlepping her to and from school has given me some unexpected extra time in my morning. I've picked up some more hours of work, and I'm finding that the regular part-time work is making me feel more balanced as a mother. As much as I enjoy sitting on the floor playing Lego, I also enjoy working with grown-ups and working toward a tangible goal. And getting a small paycheck again isn't so bad, either :)

As happy as I am now to see the bus come up to our house each morning with its flashing yellow lights, I'm just as happy when it brings my daughter back to me in the afternoon. That little bit of extra time has proven to be that extra bit of absence that has made my heart even fonder of the moments I'm with her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.