storyquine's snaps

By storyquine

My Furry Friends

These are my oldest furry toys. Very pleased to report that they survived their first encounter with the washing machine in about 20 years!!

So, from the left, Candy Fox who was bought at a shop in Minehead, Devon, in 1980. We were on holiday at Butlins and I was animal mad, especially foxes. I think that was the time Disney brought out the film 'The Fox and the Hound'. Anyway - I have a distinct memory of a whole shelf full of furry foxes and picking up one and begging my mum to buy her, and so Candy came north.

Middle - Edward, cos he was the first teddy, although I later discovered he was my first Christmas present rather than first teddy bear. He is 36 years old and will be 37 at Christmas!! I love him to bits and even though he's lost the fuzziness of his fur and his big orange bow, he's still ma Ted! He didn't have a mouth for some reason and I remember getting my mum to sew him one.

Right - Panda. Panda was bought for me by my Dad when I was born. Being a caesarian birth, my mum didn't see me first, my Dad did, and he brought Panda along to the special nursery (I was underweight and had jaundice). Panda would've been as big as me then, cos in March 1973 I only weighed 5lbs!! Panda will be 38 next year!

So, never throw out your furry friends folks - they survive on love!

:)
(a happy blip)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.