John Van de Graaff

By VandeGraaff

Bird Club Check

On Monday evening I gave a presentation on "Birds of the Massachusetts Coast" to the Allen Bird Club in Springfield Mass. I had a bad few moments when my laptop refused to boot up after I arrived--with an error message I had never seen before; but it did offer "Startup Repair" as an option. That took at least 10 minutes while they started their business meeting, but in the end it worked.

And they paid me, with this pretty check! (I've cloned out enough details to make the account untracable.) Notable points: They did spell my name correctly (without prompting, which is often essential). But the check manufacturer's green credentials are better than their spelling ability: "... printed using vegetable-based inks" misspells "Vegeatable" :(

The birds (clockwise from upper left): Goldfinch, Northern Cardinal, American Robin. For the curious, my web site has a page of images from my show.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.