Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

Under the sea

I Met up with some of the La Rochelle assistants today for a quick jaunt to the aquarium. I had actually been before but I didn't have my camera last time. I was still excited to see it again!

Our trip coincided with that of a local primary school so my excitement was tripled. Weird fish + Hyper-active kids = Great photo opportunities. Their innocent, childish antics were very contagious and I found it hard not to run, scream, dance and roll on the floor. One girl in particular would run up to the tank, press her face against the glass and then recoil into a little celebratory dance in which she would crouch and kind of wiggle around.

La Rochelle aquarium has a tremendous variety of fish. Most of which you'd never see otherwise. Yet it is still kind of strange having them all presented to you in big glass tanks. Many of them are so alien to us. I can't imagine what is going on the the minds of the little children when they cast their eyes upon some of those wonderfully ugly creatures. A child's imagination is so limitless. The vibrant colours and shapes that whizz past the glass, the bio-luminescence of the strange anemones and the great black, bottomless eyes that hold your curious gaze must provide the most nutritious fodder for future day dreaming.

There is a line from the song 'Fairytale Lullaby' by Bombay Bicycle Club that springs to mind when I try to think about the aquarium through the eyes and imagination of a child it goes like so.

I will take you in the magic purple sea,
maybe we will find a thousand sugar fish,
and when you eat them they will grant your every wish


Ahh to be young and free. Free from the throes of French bureaucracy, salaries and deadlines.

Until the next time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.