Today's the day

By sheilwill

Jane

Today's the day .......................... to say goodbye to a friend

Sorry everyone - don't feel much like blipping today - except that it's going to make me feel a bit better to tell you about my friend Jane.

We heard tonight that Jane had died. We knew that she was going to die because she has been fighting against cancer for a while and it had got so bad that it was unlikely that she would get better. It doesn't help that we knew that.

She and I met soon after we moved to Kendal twenty years ago. We liked each other on sight and became really good friends. Her eldest daughter was in the same class at school as my younger son.

We did lots of things together - we worked for Pickfords as two sixth of 'The Gentle Touch'. Six girls taken on to work with the men on house removals. We packed up the china and precious stuff - and calmed down the stressed house owners who were moving house. We had lots of adventures driving that pick-up van! We did a counselling course together - we could talk for hours - she was just the best friend anyone could have ........

I realised tonight that I don't actually have a photo of her. The only thing I do have are these earrings that she gave me as a birthday present once. You can tell how much I liked to wear them because they are a bit mangled.

So this blip is for Jane - the most beautiful person - inside and out. I shall miss her very much ...............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.