What's Around Me?

By tobiasbsnewman

B-flat

This is my favourite note... the B-flat. Photographing the B-flat made think as to why it is.

I started playing the trombone at the age of eight. (I found out that this was because my auntie had made a comment that I had long arms and, therefore, should play the trombone!!)

The trombone is a very versatile instrument. It plays in many clefs; bass, treble, tenor and alto. It plays in different keys; C and B-flat. It is an orchestral instrument, jazz instrument, brass band instrument and concert band instrument.

Growing up in the south-east of England, I was taught to read bass clef and, as such, 1st position on the trombone plays a B-flat, and I often think of it as it's home note. If I had learnt the trombone in the north, however, I think things would have been different as I would have learnt in treble clef, meaning 1st position would have been a C.

Not quite as interesting I'm afraid.

I have a gig coming up in a week or so, and I'll try to blip my trombone...

... blip!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.