Manic MorFF's Pics

By manicmorff

Cubey

Parent's night tonight, so limited time to do much on the creative front.

So here's a bit of an Emergency Toy Blip, but with a bit of a back story too.

A long time ago, the first time Erno's invention hit the streets, I was fascinated by it. That was in the days before the internet, so there was no guide to download or videos to watch. We're talking 30 years ago here.

So I worked it all out. Not sure it was the quickest method, but it worked.

Then, in 1981, Ideal held a UK wide competition to find the fastest solver, sponsored by the Daily Mirror. So, after qualifying, it was over to the Capital to the Scottish regional final.

I did my best ever time of 45 seconds in the car on the way over. Peaked too early as I was about to find out

The competition itself was a tad more serious than I expected, with a massive timer, optical sensors on the table and all such things up on the stage, in a Hotel on George Street. Oh, and it was in front of an audience.

Under competition conditions I ended up completing in 1 min 35.43 seconds. The winner completed in just 48.85 seconds. I just made it in the top ten.

I still have my certificate from the day, with my time on, signed by the man himself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.