BernardYoung

By BernardYoung

There's something I need to tell you

My Cat is in Love with the Goldfish

My cat is in love with the goldfish
It's more than a passing phase
He sits by her bowl for hours
And the hours turn into days

My cat is in love with the goldfish
I'd venture to say he's obsessed
He's not eating or sleeping or purring
It's clear that the poor boy is stressed

My cat is in love with the goldfish
He'd fight for her tooth and claw
I wish he'd take it easy
And pursue the tabby next door

But shouldn't true love be the victor?
Doesn't every cat deserve his day?
Will he pop in a paw and purloin her?
Is it too risky to whisk her away?

But if he can't live in the water
And she can't survive in the air
Perhaps now is the time to tell him
That theirs is a doomed love affair



Poem copyright Bernard Young 2010

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.