NoodlePix

By Pix

Please may I take your portrait?

I plucked up the courage to ask a couple of strangers today if I could take their photo. They didn't exactly say yes, not sure they heard me, but they didn't say no either, and they stood very still as I went past on the escalator, so, thanks ladies!

Last night we went to see Mr Nice (film about Howard Marks), which was very enjoyable. It had its faults: Rhys Ifans was not very believable as an 18 year old, though can't blame him for that, and they had an awful lot of story to cram in and it was rather crammed. Also a shame that they had chosen (eg Lennon's God) and commissioned (Philip Glass) some great music for the film, but used it rather badly, especially "God" where the climax of the song clashed with a key bit of dialogue and ruined both. If it hadn't been true the whole thing would have seemed too far fetched. Would like to read the book now...

Today began with Cari playing for Sheffield FC at home against Thorncliffe. They were two players short for the whole match, but played really well to win the game 5-1. Cari was in goal in the first half and kept a clean sheet, and then dominated the game from mid field in the second half (am I biased?).

Then off to town to take part in a Flash Mob, which involved congregating on the Town Hall at exactly 1pm, waiting for Matt Black to begin reading a poem and then freezing whilst reading a book until the poem finishes, and then dispersing as if nothing had happened, leaving people who were just passing by wondering what on earth had happened (including Cari who we hadn't let in on the secret). Hopefully a video will be posted somewhere so I can see how successful it was, as, if you do it properly, the people taking part don't really get a sense of how successful it is.

Hung around taking some more pix whilst the girls went shoe shopping.

Edit:
I just realised it would have been Lennon's 70th birthday today, and as I co-incidentally mentioned him above I thought I'd come back and post the lyrics to the song I referred to that was in the Mr Nice film. They are rather good, and, whilst they obviously refer to the break up of the Beatles, they have a much wider meaning I think...

"God is a concept,
By which we can measure,
Our pain,
I'll say it again,
God is a concept,
By which we can measure,
Our pain,
I don't believe in magic,
I don't believe in I-ching,
I don't believe in bible,
I don't believe in tarot,
I don't believe in Hitler,
I don't believe in Jesus,
I don't believe in Kennedy,
I don't believe in Buddha,
I don't believe in mantra,
I don't believe in Gita,
I don't believe in yoga,
I don't believe in kings,
I don't believe in Elvis,
I don't believe in Zimmerman,
I don't believe in Beatles,
I just believe in me,
Yoko and me,
And that's reality.
The dream is over,
What can I say?
The dream is over,
Yesterday,
I was dreamweaver,
But now I'm reborn,
I was the walrus,
But now I'm John,
And so dear friends,
You just have to carry on,
The dream is over."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.