This Reeling Day

By kkaulakh

Everyday is like Sunday

Okay substance, I'm back.

Today I got to speak to a young friend of mine. Much the way our conversations have in the last 6 months, this chat reminded me that age is irrelevant, because young as this pseudo little brother is, he has all kinds of wisdom. He and I were catching up and we drew coincidences between our recent experiences thrice. I pointed this out to him and he in turn pointed out his Skype status, which read "There's so much coincidence in this world." And so I introduced Martyn to Jung's concept of synchronicity.

Coincidence is a simplified version of synchronicity. It's got more to it than the meaningfulness of the occurrence of two unrelated events together, but I'll leave it at that. Based on my experience and the way in which the concept was introduced to me, I've sort of molded its meaning. To me, synchronicity is when life's opportunities line up. And synchronicity most often offers itself when you're on the right path. When you're yourself and you're making your own route, always only as far as your headlights light the way.

If I hadn't have come to South America I wouldn't have met Nora or learned about the Argentine genocide. Who knows when I might have found what I was searching for, the focus of my vocational pursuit. When might I have figured out that I want to dedicate myself to human rights? Would I have decided to apply to UCSB for Global Studies, or have met these like and unlike minded peers with whom I'll embark on adventures later in life?

Absolutely not.

And of course, something different would have happened. But that deserves no consideration because WHAT currently IS is irrefutable. Which is not to say that what has happened was inevitable. Any path in a million directions could have taken me elsewhere, but I chose this one, and here I am. Es libertad.

Thanks to everybody and anybody that has facilitated that for me and anybody else.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.