Daily Vision

By terryb

Cold Connections

No matter how much time I have to get ready for a trip, it's always a rush at the end. This trip was no exception. Right before running out the door I put this gold and ruby necklace on. This is a chain that I handmade. Except for the pendant, this started as a strand of rubies and plain gold wire. With two pair of pliers and one wire cutter each link is made by hand and connected to the previous link. Since there is no flame, no soldering etc. It is called "cold connection". Once you get the hang of wrapping the wire, it is extremely relaxing....if you don't mess up too many links with expensive gold wire! It is one of my favorite necklaces.
I haven't made anything in a while and when I took this off tonight I realized I'd really like to make a new one with different stones.....maybe one I finish my blip year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.