TeeJay

By TeeJay

Mailed

This is why the postie can't deliver my mail. For the past few years, each spring a starling has arrived and taken over my letterbox. I've been trying for days now to get a photo of her coming out (or going in) the letter slot but she is too quick for me - and too canny to be fooled when I camp out in my deck chair on the footpath across the road with my lens trained on the letterbox.

She is very clever. I live on the main street of our town and cars are going past all the time - yet she seems to know the sound of my car and makes herself scarce as soon as she hears me coming in or out.

Fortunately my postie knows all about my letterbox and puts my mail in the side of the box instead, and I put a sign on the box so that junk mail deliverers also know where to put their stuff....

I have no idea the gestation period for starlings - but I'll keep any eye on things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.