not working very well

I could really have done with being woken up and refreshed by going for a trundle along the seafront as some nicely coolingly misty air was being gusted inland at about seven this morning and again at lunchtime after a night of far too little sleep to be able to think properly, but one trundle along the seafront as some nicely coolingly misty air was being gusted inland on the way home was all I managed. I only had my 50mm with me but managed to test the stick-the-camera-in-the-side-pocket-of-my-rucksack technique a few times, though captured nothing worth using on its own. I might have to attach the remote control to my glove so that it doesn't have to be returned to a pocket after each use and doesn't require one less finger grasping the handlebars.

Today was supposed to have been half a day but my sister's scheduled aeroplane was broken, delaying her arrival by a couple of hours. I got back to the house just after my parents who had just received word that she was on a bus heading away from the airport which should have given us at least an hour before we needed to get up to pop out and meet her, though as the bus ended up taking twenty minutes less than LRT purported on their timetable we would have ended up just reaching the bus stop via the quicker and quieter backstreet route as she reached the house via the longer main road route had she not rung to tell us that she'd disembarked.

I was mildly dismayed that a member of my own family should suggest using a car to pop to the chippy later in the evening. This is apparently a reasonably common occurrence when they're at home, though hopefully only when they're getting something to take to their friends' house two miles away from the shop rather their own, less than a kilometre door to door. Even though I was still quite tired and weak-feeling I'm sure I was as quick getting back on a bike as a car could have been, especially considering the need to find somewhere safe to park it at the chippy end. Unfortunately the Tail End's haggis was a bit dry and reheated-feeling, though the chips were still noticeably less soggy and greasy than shop-bought chips tend to be.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.