Life Well Lived

By RodenSarah

Zoe's new fake glasses

We went to Claire's today to get Zoe proper fake glasses...because she had been trying to wear 3D glasses with the lenses popped out. They looked ridiculous. I am not quite sure why she wants to wear fake glasses. She says she likes the look of them. I at least talked her out of a nerdier pair she also liked. To quote Zoe, "Nerdy is the new black." Granted, nerdy glasses are in, but the other pair she picked out were like Urkel nerdy and about 10 times too big for her face. I really do try to keep up with the latest fashion trends. But, I don't get this one.

Since she was about three, Zoe has had her own very strong ideas about what she will and won't wear. I have always admired her for that. I gave up arguing with her about what she is wearing long ago. As long as it is weather and socially appropriate, I let her wear what she wants. I have to pick my battles. She is very interested in fashion and may want to be a fashion designer, a writer, or write about fashion when she grows up. She is dressing up as Coco Chanel for Halloween this year. It was her idea and I think that is totally amazing!! Zoe is not afraid to be unique. She is not afraid to not to fit in and that is more than I could say about myself at her age!!!! She is my hero!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.