Riding High

The Waimakariri Gorge bridge. Beyond is the southern end of the Craigieburn Range, which stands behind the Torlesse Range. The road indicates that it is part of the Porters Ski Field.

Good in large.

I was out at dawn to spray the fruit trees with water to protect them from the frost. A beautiful cloudless spring day followed. Today I wore a sun hat, whereas yesterday I had my possum fur hat on most of the day.

It would have been my mother's birthday today. We always tried to give her lilac, which was her favourite flower. She died a long time ago now, but I still take note of the lilac, to see if it is right for picking. This year there are plenty of buds, but they haven't yet opened. Last year the flowers were all spent before her birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.