Around the Block

By Barrioboy

Stormy Weather

A storm gripped Barcelona all night with great buffeting winds and buckets upon buckets of rain. We were on full drain alert, ensuring that all the drains on the terraces and patio were in storm-water escape mode and checking that the new overflow pipe from the top terrace was working...last year it didn't exist and the water had nowhere to go but down the internal stairs and walls to the ground floor, destroying several wardrobe contents on route!

All worked well, but we didn't really sleep and I took this shot upon waking (this is the view I get if I turn my head to the right on my pillow!). It doesn't really capture the storm but the darker green tree is usually completely on the right hand side of the little wall...this morning, sometimes it was bent over by three metres!

Anyway, not a day to venture outside without a protective helmet, certainly not to take photographs - I can hear things clanging in the wind or blowing along the street....have to pack for next trip tomorrow, in any case!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.