Ticking Away the Moments

By wiiaholic

Cat on a hot tin roof

Well, not that hot, it's our garage and this is Gary's daughter's cat - Taz

She looks quite sweet and ladylike but her name really suits her, it's short for Tazmanian Devil. I've seen her dragging a rabbit bigger than her all the way down the garden after bringing it back from the fields. She doesn't come in our house (she lives next door) as I can't cope with the birds she used to bring in through the cat flap when we had one - often still alive and flapping round the kitchen :(

We've tried collars with bells - but they last a couple of days tops, she gets them off somehow.

Whenever she sees any of us, she goes into 'I'm a starving cat, won't somebody feed me' mode - but I don't think she goes short of a meal!

I used to have a cat of my own & would love another one, but mine was a very affectionate house cat who never went far from home - Taz is a hunter, a predator, she tolerates us as a source of food - though she does like to be stroked & petted occasionally, it's on her terms not ours!

Maybe she's maturing a bit now though, we don't have anywhere near the number of bird corpses we used to have - she's had a rat and a frog recently though - we found the remains on the drive, always nice to come home to!

I've just been trying to work out how old she is, and I think she must be 7 or 8, even though she still looks like a very young cat, probably because she's quite small.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.