Pixel & Light

By cocteauboy

My City, My Sky, My Life

So much of what I want to share gets lost to the time that passes, and then I look up and feel like I am invisible to myself, to the world. I begin to wonder how much of me is dependent on being seen, being heard, being touched... do I exist beyond my experience if there is no one else with whom to share it? Is this what drives our social networking, dating, and mating?

I think in some part, it is, but it's not a bad thing.

If you break a hologram into pieces, each piece still contains the original image, but a blurrier version of it. The more pieces, the blurrier each piece. But begin to put those pieces back together and the original image gets clearer and clearer, the more that are joined together.

I think people are like that, too. We share because it helps us to see clearer, to bring clarity to who we are, to reflect on a whole that is greater than the sum of its parts.

When I don't share enough of me, I begin to miss me.

I haven't blogged, vlogged, or podcasted in nearly a year, and as I watch the sunset here today, it makes me wonder how much time I have left to share what I have to share, and how much more I have to enjoy of what others may share... before the sun sets on this day, this city... this life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.