Tim Grey's Daily-ish Foto

By timgrey

Fall Colors

I was able to squeeze in a quick bike ride in between working and teaching the first session in my Advanced Digital Imaging course at the University of Washington, and fortunately my schedule aligned with a couple of buddies who were heading out for a ride (and who ended up abusing my legs as I struggled to keep up!). I had noticed some brilliant orange fall colors on the ride over to the designated meeting spot, and while I was waiting for them I took advantage of the free time to capture a shot of some nearby trees in full fall-color glory.

Of course, being on my bike I only had my iPhone for a camera, so I didn't have much to work with. The trouble is, that resulted in a photo that wasn't all that great. But the colors were remarkable. Except for the overcast sky, that is.

So I started playing with the image in Photoshop. After all sorts of experimentation and permutations, I finally settled on the Stained Glass filter. It seemed to do the best job of making up for the less than stellar photo while retaining the key elements....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.