RW's Daily Exposures

By rwsphotography

Ball Thistle

Early this evening I visited a local nature preserve. The sun was close to setting behind the hills and the light was beginning to make that fall glow on everything. Of course having a camera in my hands, I was like a kid in a candy shop. After looking at all the shots I got of oaks, madrones, oak gulls, and even a recent Mountain Lion kill, I decided this was the one that was most worthy of sharing.

I especially like these "teasels" when they're in this state of complete dehydration. Notice how even the stems have started peeling away showing what's left of the inner cellulose that has completely dried out. These apparently are known as Indian Teasel, Wild Teasel, or Fuller's Teasel. Highly invasive, non-native to California.


Enjoy LARGE!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.