Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Further grumpiness

As if last night's frustration wasn't enough, now I learn that the package containing my new camera 'experienced an exception' this afternoon, or so UPS say. UPS package tracking is very unhelpful. My order went through export scan in Frankfurt on Friday afternoon. It then took until this morning for the status to change (to 'import scan' in Dublin). Scheduled delivery showed all along as today, and it was indicated throughout as being on time. Compared with other courier companies, though, the frequency of status updates left a lot to be desired.

I checked by phone this morning and got through to an automated tracking service which confirmed delivery today. I was working away upstairs for most of the day, but could have done with nipping up to the local shop for some essential groceries. I decided not to, in case I'd miss the courier. When there was still no sign of anything by 3.30 I phoned again and this time chose the option to speak to a real person. This human check confirmed that my package was out on the road and 'should' be delivered before close of business. I asked what that meant and was told it would be 'six o'clock at the latest'.

By 5.30 I was becoming concerned and phoned again. A human check this time reported that an unsuccessful delivery attempt had been made about half an hour earlier and that a second attempt would be made -- tomorrow! 'Huh?', I said. 'I've been here all day. I stayed in specifically so I wouldn't miss the courier. There was neither knock at the door nor ring of the doorbell at any time.' 'Was a failed-delivery card left?'. 'No.' I lost my rag, and accused the driver of not having tried at all to deliver my package and of having falsely reported delivery failure so he could get home early. The rep I spoke to said all she could do was pass on a message to the Package Centre, explaining that I'd been in all day, was unaware of any attempted delivery, and had received no card notifying me of one. I asked if I could go to the Package Centre and do a personal pickup but the rep said I'd need to contact them before 4.00 pm to organise that.

So here I am, packageless. I once again checked the UPS Tracking page on the web when I put down the phone. That's when I learned that my package 'has experienced an exception'. I am not a happy camper.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.