Möbius Miss

By WifeOfRiley

New start

Today was my first day in employment training since I gave up work to care for my family a decade ago. Embarking on a train journey to the city with commuters in the chilly misty morning was quite exciting. I popped into Starbucks for tea and fruit toast since I had plenty of time to catch up on the breakfast I'd been to nervous to stomach earlier on.

The room full of other peers had a touch of the 'Apprentice' about it, a few big personalities wanting to step on others shoulders to stand out from the crowd. Having said that, I met lots of lovely people and some new OU student peeps which is always great fun. 

Looking forward to next week, I won't have to keep getting out my pocket map or follow the iPhone blue dot next time, I'm a seasoned commuter myself now!

The picture is of arches on a wall where in summer students and tourists sit to watch the big outdoor screen in Exchange Square. In the background you can see one of the capsules of the Wheel of Manchester.



I chose this image as the spans of arches represent today's transition, starting the working day as someone's mum and finishing off as an individual driven to finding her own life with purpose of self. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.