Rick Curran

By rickcurran

Feeding time

I was messing around trying to make colour photos from 3 black and white images along the lines of this Photojojo tutorial but it didn't really work out, I think the coloured filters may not have been the right tones, but mainly I screwed it up because I forgot to take each filtered image in black and white mode, Doh!! I tried changing each file to grayscale afterwards but it doesn't really work. :)

I got intrigued by this process after seeing all of these old colour photos from Russia circa 1910 that were made using the same method of taking three separate exposures using a red, green and blue filter. These old photos are really quite amazing, I think they challenge our whole perception of the past which we often view as being grey and fuzzy due to the regular images we see of those times. But in these colour pictures it makes the people in it seem almost contemporary. They're really quite fascinating.

Anyway, my experiment didn't work this first attempt so I just played around with each colour channel and ended up with this image. I'll try the process again and see if I can make it work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.