Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Alien Virus3

All is well and the virus has been cleaned up at last, so today we are green for go!

Several guesses have been made as to the process involved in producing these "viral images", none of them correct alas. Others have come out straight and admitted they have no idea how they were done, so here is the "secret". It is nothing more or less than some olive oil droplets floating in a bowl of water. It would take too long to go into the whole thing right here, so if you are really interested take a look at the video which I trust you will find at www.photoanswers.co.uk/video tut...a...techniques/shoot-an-oily-watercolour/

Not being an expert in Internet addresses etc. I trust I have given you the correct link. I have Googled it myself a few minutes age and it worked for me.

Have fun everybody and don't be put off by any mention of four things. 1. You don't have to have a macro lens, an ordinary one will do if it will focus close enough. If it doesn't then use a close up filter or an ordinary magnifying lens to pull the subject into focus. 2. A tripod with fancy extendible centre column is also not essential. My first one was hand held and the other two were with an ordinary tripod, and 3. If stuck for a base photo, why not use one of your own... I did! 4. Balancing the dish looks a bit precarious on the video. I placed mine on the glass top of our coffee table with the photo on the lower shelf.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.