Bullshot

That's what you're getting today, a shot of a few bulls.

It wasn't meant to be this. Driving into Stirling recently I'd been noticing a screen of tall skinny trees (Poplars? possibly, not good on the green gardeny type stuff) and how they'd been turning a nice shade of orange. They looked particularly nice in the sunshine today and at the right angle with the magnificent Wallace Monument in the background (sans pylons) echoing their erectness I thought I had my blip for the day.

But, after finding a route down some farm roads and through a thick wooded area populated by a massive jittery hare and a pigeon eating something-or-other I ended up here. Couldn't see the Wallace Monument for the trees, the sun had faded behind the clouds and I was pointing the camera almost straight in to it and anyway, I was down too low in a muddy ditch to get any decent angle. It wasn't going to work, and by this point Euan had sent a text to say his movie had finished and he was ready to be picked up from the cinema, so I worried the bulls a bit by loudly sneaking nearer the electrified fence (good spot that, almost grabbed it to steady myself) and snapped them instead.

I even had to do the HDR bit on this manually as the cattle were retreating too fast and the grass was blowing all over the place making the three exposures I intended to HDR the buggery out of to try and mask the mediocrity of it all so out of sync with each other it ended up looking like a plate of minced beef once Photomatix had tried its best.

That shot's now been deposited in the blip recycling bank, someone else can try it if they like.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.