interesting but faintly depressing

For the price of a probably load of spam I collected an ostensibly-free slightly more up-to-date version of the Spokes bicycle map and a cheap bicycle computer from a stand at work today. I shall still have to get some of that waterproof covering stuff in which to coat the map to make it better-able to resist sweat and rain and repeated folding and unfolding unless I use it for the at-home reference copy and continue to use the one I generally keep in my bag and which is already coated with waterproof covering stuff for keeping in my bag. It lacks modern additions like the tram route but it's reasonably easy to keep track of that sort of thing. There are irritatingly few bicycle-conveniencing additions since the version I already own but there are a couple of newly-marked proposed routes which might conceivably actually exist one day this decade. There are also a couple of mistakes I am able to spot from my new location in the north and subsequent increased exposure to streets hitherto untravelled, particularly a couple of instances of a route which bears the marking indicating a quiet and bicycling-inoffensive back street but not the markings of cobbledom which is also required and which might have great bearing upon the niceness for bicycling-upon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.