ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Sarajevo rose

I was uncertain about what to blip today, my last day in Sarajevo, after what feels like a mammouth 17 days away from home (autumn will have well and truly settled by the time I get back to Edinburgh). But this picture in the end was the obvious one. It's the old Orthodox church in the centre, within a stone's throw of numerous mosques, the Catholic cathedral, and the Sephardic synagogue. A little further afield you have a much newer and grander Orthodox church and the Ashkenazi synagogue.

But unintentionally I caught a late blooming pink (and wet) rose in front of the lens. How appropriate, to symbolize how Sarajevo has moved on from its 1990s horrors, for a 'Sarajevo rose' is a shell indentation in the pavement filled in with red paint. This offers a far more peaceful splash of colour across a noble old building.

Tomorrow might be an Edinburgh sunset or one of those blips of desperation from inside an airport. Looking forward to going home and seeing my partner however much I've appreciated the opportunity to learn more about the Balkans.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.