Sailfish and the Seal

Ever since I started diving over 5 years ago, I have wanted to dive with seals. It's easy enough to do at the Farne Islands in North East England, but I've somehow never managed it. The last attempt was about 4 years ago, and I'm pretty sure there was a seal tugging my fins but visibility was so bad I couldn't see it...

Today I organised a trip to the Farnes for my club, and 11 of us managed to get in the water and enjoy the company of seals, including the lovely MrsCyclops and Sailfish, who you can see here fending off a too-friendly seal.

This chap left his mark on her hand with a bruise from this bite, and also bit a small hole in my buddys drysuit, causing a small leak!

They are magnificent underwater though - 6ft long and you'd struggle to get your arms round their middle, but extremely graceful. When the come close you can see their big soft eyes and whiskers which do make them seem like an aquatic dog, and just like dogs they seem to be curious, and like to be tickled!

A very rewarding day indeed. I'll put more pictures online later...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.