Hop Barn

By hopbarn

Damson Wine

I chose to syphon the damson wine from the 5 gallon bucket into demijohns today. This involved sterilizing everything first. Then I had to lift the bucket onto the kitchen table and arrange the demijohns on the kitchen floor close by within range of the tube. Then I filled the tube with clean water, put a finger over both ends while I held the tube in the bucket under the wine line and over a jug first to catch the water before letting go simultaneously and successfully syphoning, then over the entrance of the first demijohn. I was quite chuffed with myself that I didn't loose the water from the tube into the wine instead and not more than a few splashes on the floor. I filled 3 and a half demijohns! Luckily my friend/neighbour had made some damson & elderberry wine earlier and had half a demijohn left over so we poured both together and we will wait and see what comes of it now. Mine has no added yeast in it - it is just damsons, water and sugar. Anne has added wine yeast to hers. My damson wine is now bubbling away on the shelf above the AGA, our joint effort isn't bubbling yet. I have marked it with a yellow ribbon. We had a very little taste and felt quite intoxicated - probably because of the fumes too - the house is still smelling of fruity alchohol now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.