Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Nestling Pebble

Todays blip is an object lesson in the art of the magpie. For anyone who doesn't know, the magpie is a bird with a reputation for collecting things. All sorts of items from table spoons to wedding rings have been found in their nests and I don't think anybody has ever found out why they collect shiny objects.

Well, I am a bit of a magpie and if I wasn't there might be no blip at all today. Mrs. Joesblips car has been suffering from black spots and gunge which has been dropping all over it from a willow tree in the front garden. She eventually couldn't take it any more so down came the tree. My job today has been to try to restore the paintwork to something like normal. After four hours work, only partial success can be reported but at least it's a lot better looking than it was. Not good for blipping though, spending half my day on a 10 year old motor.

Didn't know what to do, so I invaded my magpie's collection of bits and bobs found and brought home from various walks and outings. This stone, with a tiny pebble nestling into it in a depression caused by the action of the sea came back from a recent walk on the beach. I threw down a piece of white mount board on the floor just inside the hall door, grabbed a compact camera, chose the macro mode and shot 5 frames quickly, from a couple of different angles. This one I liked best but the white background was a little too bland so I overlaid a scan of a piece of tissue paper and using the eraser at very low opacity, about 5% just gently erased some of the texture until I was happy enough to post it here.

Finally, my sincerest thanks to all of you for your very kind remarks yesterday. It's nice to know that some folk have been helped along by some things I have said and done and just as nice of you all to take the time to say so. Cheers all. Joe

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.