The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Watching the sunrise

After Friday's blip of a cow's backside, here's the rear end of a tup watching the sunrise over Ulpha. This was a sheep with attitude who gave me a long hard stare before turning round to face the dawn. Perhaps enjoying a rest before a hard day's work ahead in a field full of ewes?

The sky coloured up much more strongly after this just before the sun appeared. This was the most spectacular sunrise I've seen this year, see also this link.

I didn't set out with the intention of photographing sheep at sunrise. I was heading for the derelict plate-layer's hut at the end of the viaduct on the far side of the Kent estuary from Arnside. I was curious to have a look at this after passing it many times in the train. There is a photo of it here. I shall probably blip it again sometime when the light is better.

The winter visitors are starting to arrive in good numbers. There were large flocks of starlings feeding on the stubbles, and I saw my first of the season parties of redwings flying over heading for the yew berries on Arnside Knott. There were lots of snipes in the wet fields inland of the sea wall.

With Wifie back home, and two pairs of hands, we were able to remove the tick from Bob's ear. He celebrated by climbing the katsura tree, making sure I was watching - not bad for a ten year old cat.

I said yesterday that I might blip the bees today, instead I have given a link. We met someone today who may be able to rehome them with another colony in Arnside, probably where they came from in the first place. Let's hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.